Netflix reveals soundtrack for ‘Bridgerton’ season three
(Credit: Netflix)


Netflix reveals soundtrack for 'Bridgerton' season three

Although there’s been a spin-off to tide folks over in the meantime, anticipation for the long-awaited third season of Bridgerton reached fever pitch long before the first part of the latest run premiered on May 16th.

The streaming age has grown fond of lengthy gaps between new episodes of the biggest TV shows, and over two years had passed since Bridgerton‘s second season, with May 2023’s miniseries Queen Charlotte tiding over subscribers in the interim.

One of the biggest downsides about those eager to devour the period-set romantic shenanigans as quickly as possible is that there’s a few weeks left to go until the back half of season 3 arrives, with the remaining episodes poised to drop on June 13th.

Chris Van Dusen and Shonda Rhimes’ cultural sensation has proven its worth as one of the biggest and most-watched shows on Netflix multiple times over, and part of its wide-ranging appeal has always been the soundtracks, which take well-known songs and apply them with a distinct 19th century twist to pit modernity against classicism.

In season 3, composer Kris Bowers provides the orchestral score, while nine-time Grammy Award-nominated performer Rogét Chahayed has penned Bridgerton‘s first-ever original song with ‘All I Want’, in addition to a smorgasbord of hits spanning decades that have all been reinvented to fit the series.

As music supervisor Justin Kamps explained to Netflix, there’s a process to deciding which songs make sense within the context of Bridgerton, and it’s based on a lot more than what’s currently trending. “I start to try to think of songs from the past that could maybe work for this and then also current hits that could possibly make sense” he said. “Then it’s really down to the script and then the themes. And sometimes initially it’s about what matches the choreography and then later it’s about what matches the scene and the emotion.”

The streamer has also unveiled the complete soundtrack for the first half of season 3, leaving viewers to pick and choose their favourites to compile their own bespoke Bridgerton playlists.

Bridgerton season 3 soundtrack:

  • ‘Funeral March in C Minor’ by Soo Woo Kang 
  • ‘String Quartet in F Major op 18 no 1 – IV Allegro’ by BMGPM
  • ‘String Quartet No. 1 3rd Movement’ by BMGPM
  • ‘Elegant Country House’ by APM
  • ‘Sonata in G Major, L. 103’ by APM
  • ‘String Quartet No. 16 in E-Flat Major, K.428 – Haydn – Quartet No. 3-, Op. 10-3- IV. Allegro Vivace’ by BMGPM
  • Cover of GAYLE’s ‘Abcdefu’ by Vitula 
  • ‘String Quartet in G Major op 18 no 2 III Scherzo’ by BMGPM
  • ‘String Quartet in B Flat Major Hunt – Presto’ by Extreme
  • ‘Etude for String Quartet 1’ by APM
  • ‘String Quartet in E Flat Major, Op. 33 No. 2 The Joke – IV. Presto’ by BMGPM
  • ‘String Quartet in B flat Major op 130 – VII Finale’ by BMGPM
  • ‘Concerto for Violin, Orch in E-Major, Allegro Assai’ by APM
  • ‘String Quartet No 8 K168 IV Allegro’ by WCPM
  • ‘String Quartet in G Major’ by De Wolfe Music
  • Cover of BTS’ ‘Dynamite’ by Vitamin String Quartet 
  • ‘String Quartet No. 23 in F-Major K. 590’ by APM
  • ‘String Quartet in B-Flat Major, K. Anh.IV, No. 210 – Milanese Quartet No. 2 – I. Allegro di molto’ by BMGPM
  • Cover of Nick Jonas’ ‘Jealous’ by Shimmer
  • ‘Piano Sonata No. 23 in F Minor, Op. 57 ‘Appassionata’: II. Andante con moto’ by BMGPM
  •  Cover of Sia’s ‘Cheap Thrills’ by Vitamin String Quartet 
  • ‘String Quartet #13 Allegro Mod’ by APM
  • ‘String Quartet No. 15 in D Minor, 1st Mov. Allegro Moderato’ by APM
  • ‘Evening Stars’ by APM
  • Cover of Billie Eilish’s ‘Happier Than Ever’ by Vitamin String Quartet
  • ‘Sequence (Three)’ by Peter Gregson
  • ‘String Quartet in F Major op 3 no 5 Serenade’ by APM
  • ‘String Quartet in D Maj. The Lark – Menuetto-Allegretto’ by APM
  • ‘String Quartet D-Maj.op.76/5 (#5)’ by APM
  • Cover of Taylor Swift and Lana Del Rey’s ‘Snow On The Beach’ by Atwood Quartet
  • Cover of Pitbull’s ‘Give Me Everything – Stripped Down’ by Archer Marsh