(Credit: Rita Molnár)

Netflix News

Michelle Yeoh joins cast of ‘The Witcher’ prequel series

Looking to grow out their current high-performing properties, the universe of The Witcher is set to expand with the prequel miniseries, The Witcher: Blood Origin, Michelle Yeoh the latest name to be added to the cast list. 

Based on the novels by Polish author Andrzej Sapkowski, the prequel series will be a six-part limited series set 1,200 years before the events of the main TV series. The story will follow the creation of the first-ever Witcher prototype, as well as the events that lead to the “conjunction of the spheres”, a monumental event in the Witcher Universe in which, “the worlds of monsters, men, and elves merged to become one”.

The Malaysian actress Michelle Yeoh joins the cast as Scían, the descendant of a nomadic sword-wielding tribe who leads a quest to retrieve a sacred sword taken from her tribe, joining the warrior Fjall, played by Laurence O’Fuarain.

It’s a significant, breakout year for Yeoh too, starring in Marvel’s Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings due for release in September, as well as Gunpowder Milkshake where she joins Karen Gillan, Lena Headey, Carla Gugino and Angela Bassett. 

The prequel series joins a continued focus on expanding the Witcher universe, with Netflix offering a first-look teaser of the show’s second series earlier in the year. Outside of visual media, a Pokemon Go-style mobile game is also due to be released in late July named The Witcher: Monster Slayer, alongside a virtual ‘WitcherCon’ bringing together fans from across the world.

The virtual event, featuring exclusives and insights into the future of the series, will premiere at 7pm CEST (6pm BST) on July 9, with a second stream at 3am CEST (2am BST) the following day. Both streams will show off exclusive content, with the show available to watch online at Youtube or Twitch.