Netflix to start charging subscribers for password sharing in five more countries
(Credit: MaxPixel)

Netflix News

Netflix to start charging subscribers for password sharing in five more countries

Netflix has announced their plan to continue to stamp down on password sharing, and they’ll begin charging subscribers in five more countries for this activity.

The streaming platform is seemingly testing this strategy by rolling it out in several territories before potentially introducing the scheme on a worldwide scale. The five countries that are affected by this rule are Argentina, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and the Dominican Republic.

Subscribers in the country affected have been ordered to pay additional fees if they are sharing their password with people from outside of their household. The additional fees will only be nominal and won’t exceed $2.99 per month.

Netflix previously brought in their “add extra member” feature in Chile, Peru and Costa Rica back in March. Furthermore, they won’t be charging customers who use their service from a mobile device.

In 2021, Netflix also rolled out a verification system in some countries and warned viewers with the message: “If you don’t live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching.”

In April, Netflix’s chief executive Reed Hastings said they are “working on how to monetise sharing”. He said: “Remember, these are over 100million households that already are choosing to view Netflix. They love the service. We’ve just gotta get paid in some degree for them.”

Meanwhile, last week it was announced that Netflix lost 970,000 subscribers in the second quarter of 2022. Although this figure is lower than what the streamer estimated.