Every song on the brilliant ‘Eric’ soundtrack
(Credit: Netflix)

Film News

Every song on the brilliant 'Eric' soundtrack

Eric is the new Netflix miniseries starring Benedict Cumberbatch. It’s now available on the streaming platform and has been received with monstrous acclaim. 

In the show, written by Suffragette and Shame writer Abi Morgan, Cumberbatch plays Vincent, a puppeteer, father, and alcoholic. His son goes missing in New York, and he tries to find him with the help of an imaginary monster of a puppet based on his lost son’s drawings. 

The six-part drama is now available on Netflix and has already been creeping its way up the charts. The series is captivating from the word go as depression, desperation and tension all wrap up nicely to create what is undoubtedly one of the most unpredictable series of the year. 

Even though the show has a relatively heavy subject matter, it has light moments where some humour is injected and a bit of light is shone on the incredibly dark circumstances. These moments are helped along by the soundtrack, that has a number of different songs from various eras included. 

Some of the most notable bands that make an appearance on the soundtrack are 10cc with their hit ‘I’m Not in Love’. The song has been given a second life in recent years as it has not only been used in this Netflix drama but also made an appearance in Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy.

Some of the other artists who have songs featured in the series are Bobby O, The Cure, Bob Dylan, The Velvet Underground, Fairport Convention and Nick Cave. 

The full Eric soundtrack 

Episode one

  • 10cc – ‘I’m Not in Love’
  • Cerrone – ‘Supernature’
  • Can – ‘Vitamin C’
  • Sixto Rodriguez – ‘Crucify Your Mind’

Episode two

  • Billie Holliday – ‘These Foolish Things’
  • Bobby O – ‘I’m So Hot For You’
  • The Cure – ‘A Forest’

Episode three

  • Joan Armatrading – ‘Love and Affection’
  • Laura Brannigan – ‘Gloria’

Episode four 

  • Bob Dylan – ‘Meet Me In The Morning’
  • Echo & the Bunnymen – ‘The Killing Moon’
  • Nick Cave – ‘Tupelo’

Episode five 

  • The Velvet Underground – ‘Heroin’
  • Terry Callier – ‘900 Miles’
  • Fairport Convention – ‘Who Knows Were the Time Goes’

Episode six

  • Nico – ‘These Days’
  • 10cc – ‘I’m Not in Love’